1953 Establishment of the Chemistry Department of Korea University in Daegu during the Korean War

The history of the College of Natural Science, Department of Chemistry, began during the Korean War in 1953 in Daegu, South Korea. In February 1954, Korea University moved to its current location at Anam, followed by the restoration of the campus site by US Fifth Air Force command.

1957 First graduate with Bachelor's degree.
1960 Department moved to Science Hall
1963 Expanded to College of Science and Engineering
1968 Department moved to Aegineung Campus

Concomitant with the granting of the first bachelor’s degree in 1957, the Graduate School of Chemistry was officially established. First master’s degree was granted in 1959 and doctoral degree in 1963. Chemistry department moved its location to newly constructed building, Science Hall, in 1960. In December 1963, chemistry department was affiliated to College of Science and Engineering. School of Science and Engineering moved its location to Aegineung Campus. Department of Chemistry of KU held 6 professors with doctoral degree and a collegiate professor which was quite phenomenal and incomparable to other universities in Korea at that time. In October 1996, Asan Science Hall, the current home of chemistry department, was constructed with its modern facilities.

1997 Department moved to Asan Science Building.
2015 Total number of 1,700 BS, 500 MS, and 140 PhD degrees were granted as of 2016

Department of Chemistry, Korea University, Tel) +82-2-3290-3120
145 Anam-ro Seongbuk-gu Seoul, 02841, Republic of Korea
Copyright(c) 2014 KOREA UNIVERSITY DEPARTMENT of CHEMISTRY. All right reserved.